Gmail: “Call Phone” Feature


Ever notice how Google is rapidly expanding?They’re continuously developing more and more features, competing in the market like never before.

Now they have the “Call Phone” feature.

It’s a feature that has been around awhile, though news on it has been updating, such as this December 20th post on The Official Gmail Blog,

Image representing Gmail as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

“When we launched calling in Gmail back in August, we wanted it to be easy and affordable, so we made calls to the U.S. and Canada free for the rest of 2010. In the spirit of holiday giving and to help people keep in touch in the new year, we’re extending free calling for all of 2011.

In case you haven’t tried it yet, dialing a phone number works just like a regular phone. Look for “Call phone” at the top of your Gmail chat list and dial a number or enter a contact’s name.”

Image representing Google as depicted in Crunc...

Image via CrunchBase

It’s certainly a useful feature – free calling on your computer (until they instate the charges) with an additional ten cents credit free if you want to call outside the States or Canada.

Now to get to the point – what’s so special about the Call Phone feature that will attract suitable market interest?

With all it’s upsides, there’s also some con’s to consider. No matter where you call from, any outgoing calls are identified as coming from  Escondido, California, without any unique phone number. This proves to be fairly ineffective, and may confuse the caller’s contacts. Incoming calls are also impossible.

I’m interest in seeing how this develops.

In other news, look forward to those upcoming reviews – with a literary focus this week (along with some video game related talk, and perhaps music reviews fit in somewhere), in exception to the upcoming Gulliver’s Travels review.

About Zechariah Barrett

Greetings! Jambo! Hola ! 你好 ! Bonjour ! Hallo ! Привет ! Buongiorno ! こんにちは ! Thanks for checking out my profile. I'm Zechariah, an author, photographer, graphics designer, language learner, techie... I'll stop there for now. One more thing. I'm also a Christian. Depending on your life experience, that may mean different things to you. I want to assure you, however, that I don't subscribe to all the prevailing views. I don't subscribe to hate. I don't engage in party politics. I both care about a robust economy as well as the environment and social issues. I want to truly live my life by the Spirit of Christ, and that entails loving others and caring for this world. That's how I'm different. I'm not here to cast judgmental glances or make you feel like trash. My heart is to help others, and I hope that shows in all that I do. I also want to have a discussion. Not a debate, not an argument. I want to engage with my readers and viewers regardless of our differences, and then start a conversation. Let's make this world a better place. Together.

Posted on 01/05/2011, in All-Things-Reviews, Post-A-Day {2011}, Technology, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I signed up for it. You can make free long distance calls, which is neat. I will use it as long as it is free. When they charge, I will drop it.

  2. They have extended the free service till’ the end of 2011, so there’s no worries there! It certainly is useful, and will be disappointing when fees are instated.

Share Your Opinion

