DP: What is a friend?


Vector image of two human figures with hands i...

Image via Wikipedia - GNU by Oliverbeatson

Who would have though such a deep topic would have come from Daily Post? Though it seems many of their questions have been of some relative, personal level recently.

What indeed is a friend? A friend, in my personal sight, is one of those rare companions who you are fortunate of to meet. I have two terrific friends, and I find that I am comfortable speaking with them about things that concern personal matters in my life. It is that comfortability in disclosure – that relationship that does not hold fear, but allows for relaxing conversations, that may form a true friendship. Friends are those people who will stick with you through thick and thin, and tell you the honest truth – what’s best for you.

Friends care for you not because they get something out of the relationship, but because they have such a respect for you as a person.

Friends are truly special, and sometimes people you will only meet once in a lifetime. Other times we may find an abundance of friends – genuinely caring people who seek the well-being of those they are close to.

This reminds me of a question that was asked on Yahoo! Answers, asking “Do you agree that there is no such thing as a true friend?” to which I responded with a Christian viewpoint:

Humanity is selfish – that is one sad realization that could lead to such philosophy.

There is however, a love that transcends all selfishness.
It is a divine attribute that seeks selfless relationship and ensures true friendship.
Even if you do not believe in the principals of Christianity, look to the lives of Jesus Christ, and other men and women who committed themselves to the ones they loved – even to the point of death. This bond of love may be formed in a friendship. It is something very rare, and very special. It may be called one of those “once in a lifetime” events – that, for some, never occurs.

Jesus is considered by scholars such as Weber ...

Image via Wikipedia

It takes discernment and an understanding of selfish ambition. Is your “friend” seeking what’s best for you in the relationship, or what will benefit them? If it is the latter, you know the friendship is “untrue” and deeply lacking.

Hurt can lead us to set up barriers and facades, keeping us from deep relationship.
Sometimes you simply have to let go, and trust someone, but not before getting to know them and seeing beyond the facade that they may inevitably wear themselves.

About Zechariah Barrett

Greetings! Jambo! Hola ! 你好 ! Bonjour ! Hallo ! Привет ! Buongiorno ! こんにちは ! Thanks for checking out my profile. I'm Zechariah, an author, photographer, graphics designer, language learner, techie... I'll stop there for now. One more thing. I'm also a Christian. Depending on your life experience, that may mean different things to you. I want to assure you, however, that I don't subscribe to all the prevailing views. I don't subscribe to hate. I don't engage in party politics. I both care about a robust economy as well as the environment and social issues. I want to truly live my life by the Spirit of Christ, and that entails loving others and caring for this world. That's how I'm different. I'm not here to cast judgmental glances or make you feel like trash. My heart is to help others, and I hope that shows in all that I do. I also want to have a discussion. Not a debate, not an argument. I want to engage with my readers and viewers regardless of our differences, and then start a conversation. Let's make this world a better place. Together.

Posted on 01/23/2011, in Adventure Writer Favorite, Christianity, Daily Post Topic, Post-A-Day {2011}, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Share Your Opinion

