Generational Limit


Marcus Tullius Cicero, after whom Teuffel name...

Image via Wikipedia

Topic: Describe the following quote [with a Biblical perspective]:

“Who knows only his own generation remains always a child.” ~Cicero

When one is limited to the present, they remain isolated to mature conceptions – this limitation makes them as a child. The past provides insight unto the future and the present. Such insight is a safeguard to mistakes, ones that have already been made and should not be made again. Insight, however, is not only limited as a combat to human error, it provides a new outlook on life, one that can grow with age. Insight takes the cooperation of the one who wishes to tap into it. Like understanding God’s word, it requires contemplation and revelation. Revelation may be gained through life experiences that you experience as you grow older. Mistakes should be looked at as something to be learned from and a warning for anyone who may be able to make these mistakes. They do not need to be tried out, as those who have already tried them out, have met negative consequences. If you do not learn from mistakes, experiences, and life lessons that God gives you, age will not assist you — nor give you wisdom. One may look at the generations around oneself and learn from them, even the next generation. If the younger generation is looked to as inexperienced, and cannot be learned from, this is quite a mistake. There is something to be learned from in any generation.

If one is not open to this, and they close their mind to

everything around them, they are as a child.  However,

unlike children, they cannot grow… they cannot learn.

About Zechariah Barrett

Greetings! Jambo! Hola ! 你好 ! Bonjour ! Hallo ! Привет ! Buongiorno ! こんにちは ! Thanks for checking out my profile. I'm Zechariah, an author, photographer, graphics designer, language learner, techie... I'll stop there for now. One more thing. I'm also a Christian. Depending on your life experience, that may mean different things to you. I want to assure you, however, that I don't subscribe to all the prevailing views. I don't subscribe to hate. I don't engage in party politics. I both care about a robust economy as well as the environment and social issues. I want to truly live my life by the Spirit of Christ, and that entails loving others and caring for this world. That's how I'm different. I'm not here to cast judgmental glances or make you feel like trash. My heart is to help others, and I hope that shows in all that I do. I also want to have a discussion. Not a debate, not an argument. I want to engage with my readers and viewers regardless of our differences, and then start a conversation. Let's make this world a better place. Together.

Posted on 01/26/2011, in Post-A-Day {2011}, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That bust is wierd.

Share Your Opinion

