Finding the Bourne Series


The Bourne Identity (2002 film)

Image via Wikipedia

Today I watched, for the first time in it’s entirety, The Bourne Identity. It proved to be on the same terms with movies such as Inception – although without so much of consistent, deep psychological aspects. It creates suspense through the unknown, yet adds intrigue with each revelation of the world in which the movie goer is enveloped. Rather than a puzzle even to the end, it is rather a mystery until the end – when most resolutions are made, though unanswered questions make for an easy sequel. I’d suppose this is why the series already has three films in its series, being The Bourne Identity, The Bourne Supremacy, and The Bourne Ultimatum – with a fourth, The Bourne Legacy, on its way for July 2012 [1].

The film series is not something for the whole family, and rather for teenage-adult thrill/adventure/action movie lovers. There is some morally questionable content – and a great deal of violence. As PluggedIn.com reviewer, Bob Smithouser states:

“Unfortunately, Damon’s conflicted superspy, exciting cat-and-mouse action and some beautiful European locales can’t compensate for inappropriate language and frequent killings. The Bourne Identity will leave discerning viewers wishing they could develop selective amnesia and forget this entertaining movie’s unnecessary offenses.”

For audiences who wish to avoid violence and some very “colorful” language, and prefer to take on a family film, this movie would not be a primary, or even recommended, choice. For action movie lovers, it certainly proves to live up to spy-film expectations.

About Zechariah Barrett

Greetings! Jambo! Hola ! 你好 ! Bonjour ! Hallo ! Привет ! Buongiorno ! こんにちは ! Thanks for checking out my profile. I'm Zechariah, an author, photographer, graphics designer, language learner, techie... I'll stop there for now. One more thing. I'm also a Christian. Depending on your life experience, that may mean different things to you. I want to assure you, however, that I don't subscribe to all the prevailing views. I don't subscribe to hate. I don't engage in party politics. I both care about a robust economy as well as the environment and social issues. I want to truly live my life by the Spirit of Christ, and that entails loving others and caring for this world. That's how I'm different. I'm not here to cast judgmental glances or make you feel like trash. My heart is to help others, and I hope that shows in all that I do. I also want to have a discussion. Not a debate, not an argument. I want to engage with my readers and viewers regardless of our differences, and then start a conversation. Let's make this world a better place. Together.

Posted on 02/27/2011, in All-Things-Reviews, Movie Reviews, Post-A-Day {2011} and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Opinion

