DP: When is it better to be sorry than safe?


I don’t know whether Plinky.com puts much thought into their questions – yet whether they do or

The Emotional Boundarydon’t, this prompt is sure to bring out some deep contemplations. When is it better to be sorry than safe? Most people on DailyPost offered some variation of “always.” But why? Although I may not know the exact reason for this response, I at least know my own. Before you ask the question of, When is it better…? you must ask:  What is safe?

 

If safe is self-preservation and self-worry, then it certainly is always better to be sorry than safe. After all, if one is always looking out for themselves, when will they take a moment to care about the world around them, and the friends and family, or companions of some sort, that most likely accompany them through life? It is better to be repentant, concerned, and selfless than safe and obstinate to self gain. This does not go to say that it is not sometimes better to be safe than sorry, but that justification would be outside the bounds of the above definition – and be yet another discussion entirely.

About Zechariah Barrett

Greetings! Jambo! Hola ! 你好 ! Bonjour ! Hallo ! Привет ! Buongiorno ! こんにちは ! Thanks for checking out my profile. I'm Zechariah, an author, photographer, graphics designer, language learner, techie... I'll stop there for now. One more thing. I'm also a Christian. Depending on your life experience, that may mean different things to you. I want to assure you, however, that I don't subscribe to all the prevailing views. I don't subscribe to hate. I don't engage in party politics. I both care about a robust economy as well as the environment and social issues. I want to truly live my life by the Spirit of Christ, and that entails loving others and caring for this world. That's how I'm different. I'm not here to cast judgmental glances or make you feel like trash. My heart is to help others, and I hope that shows in all that I do. I also want to have a discussion. Not a debate, not an argument. I want to engage with my readers and viewers regardless of our differences, and then start a conversation. Let's make this world a better place. Together.

Posted on 03/07/2011, in Post-A-Day {2011} and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Share Your Opinion

