Nintendo 3DS Graphics Design (3DS Series #005)


Starting off from yesterday’s 3DS Photography, today I’ll reveal how I created those images.

  • Starting off with Getting Kreative with Kirby, this was one of the simpler graphics. Simply opening up AR Games, I pulled out my Kirby card and pressed “A” until he’s in the pose shown in the graphic. Then I simply pull out an actual, real-life notebook, and place Kirby immediately below it, so that it appears his drawing has been etched onto the paper.
  • Metroid vs Zelda was a bit more difficult than meets the eye. First I set the Metroid figure on the ground, set on the pose of my choice. Then I pulled out my Zelda card and made sure the Nintendo emblem, and the bulk of Zelda’s identifying graphic were visible to the 3DS. The tricky part was allowing the 3DS to see both cards simultaneously within the short space I provided.
  • That’s a Wrap was quite easy. As with Kirby, I simply used my Kodak as a prop, and switched through the AR Box’s poses until the director’s seat was available.
  • HNI_0050, aka, Flying Mario, was by far the easiest to create. Simply holding Mario’s AR Card in the air at an angle, I made an easy graphic.
  • HNI_0053 was the most difficult out of all these graphics, which goes to say, not really difficult at all. I simply whipped out my Kodak, took a video of the Eyes-in-Box AR Card, and replayed it. It was somewhat difficult to get the 3DS Cameras to pick up on the Kodak image, but it goes to show you don’t really need the original card to play the AR Games. My original intention was to make two box AR’s avatars appear side by side, but it appears the 3DS is smarter than that.
About Zechariah Barrett

Greetings! Jambo! Hola ! 你好 ! Bonjour ! Hallo ! Привет ! Buongiorno ! こんにちは ! Thanks for checking out my profile. I'm Zechariah, an author, photographer, graphics designer, language learner, techie... I'll stop there for now. One more thing. I'm also a Christian. Depending on your life experience, that may mean different things to you. I want to assure you, however, that I don't subscribe to all the prevailing views. I don't subscribe to hate. I don't engage in party politics. I both care about a robust economy as well as the environment and social issues. I want to truly live my life by the Spirit of Christ, and that entails loving others and caring for this world. That's how I'm different. I'm not here to cast judgmental glances or make you feel like trash. My heart is to help others, and I hope that shows in all that I do. I also want to have a discussion. Not a debate, not an argument. I want to engage with my readers and viewers regardless of our differences, and then start a conversation. Let's make this world a better place. Together.

Posted on 04/01/2011, in Post-A-Day {2011}, Technology, The Nintendo Series [3DS/DSi], Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Opinion

