Scorpia Rising: The Final Chapter


Cover of "Scorpia (Alex Rider 5)"

Cover of Scorpia (Alex Rider 5) [Much like that of Scorpia Rising

It is time for the final mission – the last adventure in the New York Times bestselling series, Alex Rider, by author Anthony Horowitz. Whether a returning fan or a newly acquainted reader, this action-packed thriller is sure to please with every page.

We join Alex Rider where we left off – the end of his life as a spy. After completing dozens of missions for MI6 (British Intelligence) Alex can finally return to a normal life… or can he? While at school, Alex once again finds himself caught in the cross hairs of a sniper. He escapes, but one of his best friends takes a bullet. Alex vows revenge, enraged that the world of espionage has once again reared it’s ugly head and invaded his life at home. Jack Starbright, Alex’s housekeeper (and sole guardian, due to the death of his parents and uncle), and Alex meet with two of the top honcho’s of British Intelligence. Alan Blunt, the chief, decides it would be safer for Alex to be relocated to the Middle East, until a safer time, and provides him a seemingly harmless task to do while there. What he doesn’t know, however, is that Scorpia (a worldwide criminal organization) is pulling all the strings, and there will only be one person returning home alive.

It’s a tremendously well written novel, with ingenious literary devices and page-to-page suspense. It, however, expects the reader to have grown with the series. It’s incorporation of methods of torture and periods of violence are intended for teens and adults – not young children. A fantastic end to a wonderful series!

About Zechariah Barrett

Greetings! Jambo! Hola ! 你好 ! Bonjour ! Hallo ! Привет ! Buongiorno ! こんにちは ! Thanks for checking out my profile. I'm Zechariah, an author, photographer, graphics designer, language learner, techie... I'll stop there for now. One more thing. I'm also a Christian. Depending on your life experience, that may mean different things to you. I want to assure you, however, that I don't subscribe to all the prevailing views. I don't subscribe to hate. I don't engage in party politics. I both care about a robust economy as well as the environment and social issues. I want to truly live my life by the Spirit of Christ, and that entails loving others and caring for this world. That's how I'm different. I'm not here to cast judgmental glances or make you feel like trash. My heart is to help others, and I hope that shows in all that I do. I also want to have a discussion. Not a debate, not an argument. I want to engage with my readers and viewers regardless of our differences, and then start a conversation. Let's make this world a better place. Together.

Posted on 05/10/2011, in All-Things-Reviews, Book Reviews, Literary Focus, Post-A-Day {2011} and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Opinion

