DP: How do you know where your boundaries are?


“How do you know where your boundaries are? We all have limits for what we are willing to try, or do, but how do you know that you haven’t gone far enough? Or when you go too far?” – Scott Berkun, The Daily Post

Boundaries… often times they are only superficial mental barriers that we set up for ourselves.

I cannot do this because I never have before… 

I cannot experience this, because I have never experienced anything like it…

It often takes a leap of courage to overcome these obstacles – moreover, with that leap comes a realization, which is this: there is a drastic difference between being unable and unwilling or inexperienced. For example, eating escargot is often a scary though for many Americans, yet for most, they are physically able to consume the dish. The only thing that stands in their way is the mental barrier they set up for themselves.

Mental boundaries may be overcome, although some physical boundaries may prove to be insurmountable. For myself, I know I cannot continue doing something when it will result in death, when I have reached my peak physical limit in some particular challenge. Yet when I am tired, or desiring to quit, here I may find the chance to persevere. To grow and develop in whatever it is that I am doing by pushing myself above the average 100% bar.

When considering boundaries, there is one remedy we often overlook: God.

In God there are no boundaries (except for that which compromises the law and character of God’s perfect nature), and by the power of the cross anything may be overcome.

Posted on 07/07/2011, in Daily Post Topic, Post-A-Day {2011} and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Awesome! I totally agree.

    Travel4Life

Share Your Opinion

