Invited into the World of Google +


Google Logo officially released on May 2010

Image via Wikipedia

Today I was invited to join Google + by an associate I was acquainted with via my forum. The registration form I was redirected too was incredibly simple, requiring only a first and last name, gender, birthday (m/d/y), and your preexisting Google image (if you have a Google account) is pre-added.

After you fill out this information, you also have a check box to consider (Google may use my information to personalize content and ads on non-Google web sites) and a notice by Google:

Google+ is in limited Field Trial.
Things may not always work as intended. By using this product in Field Trial stage, you’re responsible for protecting yourself and your data from any risks, including data loss or disclosure. By signing up, you also agree that we may contact you to ask for feedback about the product.

Yet, even with the easy registration process, I found myself to be quite hesitant. Days before I had read articles about Google +, that was when I had barely even heard of it, and what I discovered seemed quite disconcerting. The issue here is privacy –  I have not joined social networks such as MySpace and Facebook for similar reasons, and Google + raises even stronger issues – for one, the private profile is no longer an option, by August 1st, Google + will delete all public profiles in existence, or users can choose to go public and join the majority of users [1][2]. Therefore, whether I join this network or not will be determined by what I find in their Privacy Policy.

Posted on 07/12/2011, in Post-A-Day {2011}, Technology, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share Your Opinion

