Set Your Sights on 2012 with Insight from WordPress’ New Feature


Two hours ago WordPress announced a superb new feature: a comprehensive annual report with the works - fireworks, statistics, congratulations, and tips for 2012. Thanks for all the hard work WordPress!

When I checked my e-mail moments ago it was to a pleasant surprise – WordPress’ creative annual report for my blog. If you’re new to blogging this page may be… disheartening, however, don’t let that get you down. WordPress has a helpful guide to getting you on your way to blog stardom: Master the Basics and Beyond.

My blog managed to achieve a few thousand views, which I’m contended with considering where I started (2010: a few hundred views and zero subscribers). All it took was regular posting, proper tagging, and creativity with blog posts. I’m thankful for all the people who have taken the time to subscribe to my blog, regardless of its varied content, and have taken the time to read my posts – it has been a great year and I’m astounded at the feedback I’ve received. I never figured I’d get more than 5,000 views.

I would highly recommend reading WordPress’ guide – my generation rarely likes to read instructions or how to’s, however, it is certainly worth the read. Practical and thorough, the WordPress staff has years of experience which has been conveyed in simple steps just about anyone can understand.

However, if you choose not to read it, here are some simplified highlights (with some tips of my own):

-Focus on making quality posts (I need to work on this more! Although blogging, when I’m not in a hurry, has certainly helped improve my writing capabilities). If you’re writing something personal, about life, etc. be sincere / real, the human element is what gives a post its charm.

-Make quality comments on blogs with similar interests to yours

-Subscribe to other blogs (especially DailyPost)

-Make a New Year’s Resolution to take on the PostADay or PostAWeek challenge (it’ll improve your writing and bring attention to your blog, and hopefully DailyPost will start up a 2012 campaign)

-Utilize social networks such as Twitter, Facebook, etc. which you are a part of to spread the word of your blog.

Now it’s time to get blogging and draft some extra posts to cover the days I’ve missed this year…

 Happy New Years (Bonne Année Nouveau, Feliz Año Nuevo, Felice Anno Nuovo)

– Adventure Writer (Aventure Ecrivain, Aventura Escritor, Avventura Scrittore)

P.S. - Feel free to correct my foreign language 
(or even my English, if I made a grammar faux pas) 
in the comments if you find anything amiss.
About Zechariah Barrett

Greetings! Jambo! Hola ! 你好 ! Bonjour ! Hallo ! Привет ! Buongiorno ! こんにちは ! Thanks for checking out my profile. I'm Zechariah, an author, photographer, graphics designer, language learner, techie... I'll stop there for now. One more thing. I'm also a Christian. Depending on your life experience, that may mean different things to you. I want to assure you, however, that I don't subscribe to all the prevailing views. I don't subscribe to hate. I don't engage in party politics. I both care about a robust economy as well as the environment and social issues. I want to truly live my life by the Spirit of Christ, and that entails loving others and caring for this world. That's how I'm different. I'm not here to cast judgmental glances or make you feel like trash. My heart is to help others, and I hope that shows in all that I do. I also want to have a discussion. Not a debate, not an argument. I want to engage with my readers and viewers regardless of our differences, and then start a conversation. Let's make this world a better place. Together.

Posted on 12/31/2011, in Post-A-Day {2011} and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It was really a New year surprise from WordPress today morning.

    Happy New Year 2012. Best of Luck.

    Nandita B., Founder of MoneyCTL.com :: http://MoneyCTL.com/

Share Your Opinion

