Le Beau Port de Normandie (et amis): Memory Lane


One of my favorite photographs was one I took at a Normandy port. I first posted it on this blog on Oct. 22nd, 2010 shortly after arriving back on American shores. Since very few people were viewing my blog at that time, and moreover would be a pain to search through my never-ending archives I have decided to “bring it back into the light,” as well as a few others.

These photographs were originally posted when I had abundant space on my blog and posted images in full resolution, therefore you may note they have the potential of greater loading times.

Normandy Harbor

While at this beautiful Normandy harbor, we stopped for a bite to eat at a local seafood restaurant. While there, I had a (featured a few days ago on this blog) fantastic plate of fresh lobster that was likely caught that morning.

Soleil Rouge

A striking blend of various purples, pinks, whites, and violets! This flower stood out quite distinctly (on behalf of its vibrancy) among its kin in Monet's Garden.

Stars in a Black Sky

"What are these? I really have no idea." I had a knack for captions in '10, I did (tone dripping in sarcasm). In my travels, I paid a visit to the second-largest capitol building in the United States (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nebraska_State_Capitol), that of Lincoln, Nebraska. There was a tremendous view from atop it, which if you'll scroll down to the next picture, you'll be able to enjoy.

A Look From Above

One may find an astounding view from atop the United States' second-largest capitol building. Although I'm sure the view from atop the Tour de Eiffel is a tad more beau.

A Storm Is Brewing

On one side, there's a beautiful sunset. However, on the flip side... there's something much more menacing brewing.

Grasshopper

The caption I originally had for this picture was... well, amusing at best. I found this grasshopper on a warm summer day when it was time to provide the plants with a "watery reprieve."

Spinach-Fruit Juice

Oh the terror! Oh the horror! Wait... it's actually quite delicious! A mix of frozen bananas, blueberries, strawberries, and spinach - all you taste is the fruit!

On the original post, I even posted a recipe:

Regardless of the captions (albeit I changed the captions) this drink actually isn’t half bad. Tastes more like a strawberry-banana smoothie, than an intimidating vegetable concoction.

Curious?

Ingredients:
  1. 3 Frozen Strawberries
  2. 2 Frozen Bananas
  3. 3 Handfuls of Fresh Spinach
  4. 1 Handful of  Blueberries
  5. 1 Cup of Water
  6. Combine ingredients in blender, mix well.
12 26 15

PF Chang's egg drop soup is utterly magnificent - with its green peppers, chunks of delicious egg... this photograph is from the time where I'd photograph just about anything.

Le Notre Dame de Paris

Our Lady of Paris - the one, but not the only, Notre Dame!

 

 

 

 

About Zechariah Barrett

Greetings! Jambo! Hola ! 你好 ! Bonjour ! Hallo ! Привет ! Buongiorno ! こんにちは ! Thanks for checking out my profile. I'm Zechariah, an author, photographer, graphics designer, language learner, techie... I'll stop there for now. One more thing. I'm also a Christian. Depending on your life experience, that may mean different things to you. I want to assure you, however, that I don't subscribe to all the prevailing views. I don't subscribe to hate. I don't engage in party politics. I both care about a robust economy as well as the environment and social issues. I want to truly live my life by the Spirit of Christ, and that entails loving others and caring for this world. That's how I'm different. I'm not here to cast judgmental glances or make you feel like trash. My heart is to help others, and I hope that shows in all that I do. I also want to have a discussion. Not a debate, not an argument. I want to engage with my readers and viewers regardless of our differences, and then start a conversation. Let's make this world a better place. Together.

Posted on 01/19/2012, in Adventure Writer Favorite, Art & Recreation, Photography, Post-A-Day {2011}, Post-A-Day {2012}, Technology, World Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Share Your Opinion

