Transitional Writing


I first began work on the novel (working title) Project Ordine two years

Grasshopper

Unnoticeable at first glance although unmistakeable upon a second. This grasshopper came to my attention as did my literary folly, although without so much shock, considering the creature is so harmless… whilst errors are so corrosive to the lifeblood of a tale.

ago when my writing was undergoing tremendous refinement. My whole outlook on storytelling was given a major transformation, and I started to pick up on elements I hadn’t noticed before.

Looking back at the first few chapters, I’ve been quite nearly appalled at how crudely constructed some thoughts were, especially at such a vital time of the story where a significant portion of background information is provided.

Even upon examination of my two-page prologue, I found ideas that I once stubbornly clasped onto as artful prose, disrupted the flow of the story and took away from the suspense which would initially draw the reader in. After a few necessary revisions, however, the issue was remedied. Nevertheless, there still remains much to reform.

I was surprised to have received very little negative feedback from my chosen readers (a small group of acquaintances, friends, and family). The errors were most certainly quite subtle, but they seemed to form such a maelstrom, I would have supposed an outcry.

Such, it would seem, is the retrospection of a literary perfectionist (in terms of mine own manuscripts [time to mix a little bit of Shakespeare into the blog posts]).

About Zechariah Barrett

Greetings! Jambo! Hola ! 你好 ! Bonjour ! Hallo ! Привет ! Buongiorno ! こんにちは ! Thanks for checking out my profile. I'm Zechariah, an author, photographer, graphics designer, language learner, techie... I'll stop there for now. One more thing. I'm also a Christian. Depending on your life experience, that may mean different things to you. I want to assure you, however, that I don't subscribe to all the prevailing views. I don't subscribe to hate. I don't engage in party politics. I both care about a robust economy as well as the environment and social issues. I want to truly live my life by the Spirit of Christ, and that entails loving others and caring for this world. That's how I'm different. I'm not here to cast judgmental glances or make you feel like trash. My heart is to help others, and I hope that shows in all that I do. I also want to have a discussion. Not a debate, not an argument. I want to engage with my readers and viewers regardless of our differences, and then start a conversation. Let's make this world a better place. Together.

Posted on 06/22/2012, in Adventure Writer Landmark, Art & Recreation, Post-A-Day {2011}, Post-A-Day {2012} and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Steven Hamilton

    I’m glad you are critically assessing your work. Keep working, this book is going to be great!

Share Your Opinion

